Your most valuable Tips & Tricks in Type Design!

Hi, my name is Britt and I'm new here, and I really hope you can help me! I have been a typography teacher for over 10 years at different art academies in The Netherlands, which I love. Since a few weeks I'm also organising my own courses to private students, which I love even more:-)

I have a small group of people, from different countries, different ages, different experiences. One thing the have in common: THEY START LOVING TYPE! Since we are heading to our last lesson I would like to give them something extra. I think the most valuable thing I can give them are tips and tricks from YOU.

So do you have any tips and tricks (preferably in Glyphs) that you would like to share about making the perfect outline?

Thanks a million, especially from my students! Have a great weekend:-)

Comments

• So what's the title of your upcoming book on type design tips & tricks?
  • Theoretical:
    You are not making a final product, but a notan machine for other people to use.

Practical:
    Know the severe limits of the grid, transcending it with optics sooner rather than later. And not only the Cartesian grid, but the chirographic as well.

• Chris LozosChris Lozos Posts: 1,458
    Proceed as a child about to play for the first time with no "ideal model" in mind. Do something, then react to what you have done by seeing it happen.
  • James PuckettJames Puckett Posts: 1,969
    Don’t draw curved shapes by drawing curves with a pen tool. Instead place the extrema points, pull the curves out of them, make the on-curve points into smooth connections, and then even out all the handles to get an even shape.
  • Yves MichelYves Michel Posts: 151
    I appreciate the comments on your post. Very clever and not too "guru".
    Dissecting the title of your post "Tips and Tricks in Type Design", it evoques 2 excellent and rather different books I use as references (among others).