Designed my first font for a fashion brand logo. How did I do so far?

Hi Type Drawers community!

I have been afraid of creating logos with customized fonts because, well, they always end up poorly. This time I kinda got out of my comfort zone and decided to do it.

This project it's called Petit Poison (Small Poison). It's a fashion brand, in which she wanted it to have a Baroque style, being really into the Alexander McQUEEN font style (Baskerville), but in a quite modernized style.

It's definitely not done and in need of some refinements. However, since it's my first ever customized font I don't really know what's wrong about it. It feels odd, but I can't quite put my finger where it does.

If you guys can aid me to point out the weak points it would be immensely helpful.

Comments

• Looks cool to me.
    The "e" and especially the "o" seem a bit too light.
    And I would loosen the "ison".
  • edited November 2019
    I'm kinda new to type design, so bear with me please.
    You mean like the spacing between inlines it's too much compared to the "i", "t" and "n"?
    About the "ison", by loosening you mean the kerning?
  • Lines on the straight stems look much closer to each other than those on curves. 
  • edited November 2019
    I mean there's too much white inside the "e" and "o". Alternatively you could make the "i", "t" and "n" more white inside. The "s" is in-between.

Yes, I would move the letters in "ison" further apart from each other.
  • Oooh yeah, you are right. That's definitely a weak point.
  • Jasper de WaardJasper de Waard Posts: 617
    edited November 2019
    Glad to see you made it to typedrawers! I'll repeat again:
    1. The thick parts of o, e, s, are much thicker than those of verticals like i and n (edit: hrant already said this).
    2. You need more 'overshoot'. I.e. the round shapes need to dip below the baseline and exceed the x-height a little (more).
    3. I would make the top of n and i identical.