Early access or beta releases à la futurefonts.xyz

What are your thoughts or experiences with selling early versions of your fonts?

I've been working on a typeface again after a 10 year hiatus from my type design hobby, and it's far enough along now that I'm beginning to think about how and when to publish it. I'm a software engineer by trade so releasing beta versions of a project or versions with limited feature sets, and then iterating on them and releasing future updates feels very natural to me. And what they're doing on e.g. Future Fonts seems very interesting and familiar in that regard.

However, I've also seen fair number of comments here and elsewhere where type designers have regretted releasing a font too early, and that pre-release versions have a tendency to leak and be distributed on sketchy sites forever, with whatever bugs, errors, or issues those early versions might contain.

If you have used an iterative approach and released multiple versions of a font, how did you decide where to stop for the initial version, and what did you include in subsequent releases?

Comments

• Igor PetrovicIgor Petrovic Posts: 262
    edited May 2023
    I am of those that think font versioning is a good idea, especially for display fonts. 

Standard font production is a long and laborious process without any emotional or material reward until the release. That results in many fonts being abandoned in the middle and many great concepts never even started to be digitized expecting the many months of grinding.

Given this, it's reasonable to put honest type designer's benefits in front of pirate site users who end up using a half-product. Actually, that even sounds like a clever antipiracy strategy, to seed numerous fake instances over the web where only those who buy can be sure they get the right product  :)

Given that font can be used for branding, having the first version of English 26 cap or low letters can qualify for 0.1