Texture not quite right? (Royale: WIP sans)

Hi all, long-time lurker/first time poster here. I'm a total novice, picking back up type design hobby after a 10 year hiatus, and trying to finally finish this idea that I first started in school 15 years ago.

With Royale, I'm aiming for something friendly but not silly, usable for UI and short-to-medium length text, with enough personality to still be interesting at larger display sizes. Most of the design is based around the initial /R design.

Recently I've gotten some (rough) new weights drawn, been redrawing diacritics, fixing curves, and have begun redoing all the spacing. Also still not totally happy with the designs of all the letters, and have been playing around with complete redesigns of some (e.g. /G, /M, and /Q). I have done virtually no kerning, and am just using autohint in Glyphs.

However, one thing I'm noticing when test-driving it in some real world applications is that there's something just a little bit off with the overall texture, especially for longer strings of text, but I can't seem to put my finger on what the issue is (sample screenshot and PDF attached).

Do I need to just keep going with fixing crappy/inconsistent drawing and spacing? Or is there some larger fundamental design issue making the texture feel a bit off?

Another other feedback welcome as well. Thanks!

Comments

• Igor PetrovicIgor Petrovic Posts: 261
    edited February 2023
    It has pretty nice potential for the purpose you explained, and some very nice solutions (lowercase y, e diagonal stroke, etc.) I like a relatively high elegant bar on A, E, etc.

As for the texture and working spacing, I would say it's generally okay. You might want to point more specifically to what's bugging you :)

A few other things:

- For B P R and similar not-so-usual solutions, it might be a good idea to have classic versions as well (stylistic alternates).