Options

About the existence of the anchors in .otf

mauro sacchettomauro sacchetto Posts: 353
edited January 2022 in Font Technology
Since I have been working on Linux for many years, but now have a MacBook Pro, I have installed Glyphs (which is much better integrated into the system than FontForge). I then opened / imported an .otf (Glyphs does not manage FontForge's .sfd sources). One of the problems I encountered is that all anchors are lost. In the Glyphs forum I was told that this is normal, because there are no anchors in the compiled .otfs. However the answer does not convince me, because I did a little test: I opened any .oft that uses anchors, in this case SourceSansPro, with Fontlab7. The anchors are visible and editable:
Then, I opened the same .otf with FontForge and, also in this case, the anchors are visible and editable:

Finally, I opened it with Glyphs, and there is no trace of the anchors:

I believe many people on this forum use Glyphs. Is it really the only font editor that can't import / read anchors?
Thank you

Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    Florian PircherFlorian Pircher Posts: 173
    edited January 2022
    There are attachment points in the exported font data, but they do not map 1-to-1 to the anchors as seen in the editing view. This makes them tricky to import without introducing subtle bugs. Glyphs 3 can represent contextual anchors directly in Edit View, and future additions to the anchor metadata are planned, so one day importing of attachment points to anchors may be supported.

In general, we recommend always working from sources, not exported files. There are more things than just the attachment points that get lost when using an OTF as a source document. Instead, convert the .sfd to an exchange format such as UFO and open that in Glyphs.
  • Options