Anyone up for a Game of Hypotheticals?

13»

Comments

• JoyceKettererJoyceKetterer Posts: 792
    edited August 2021
    @Ray Larabie oh, well, I didn't mean marketing and presentation either.  I'm talking about the licensing model exclusively.
  • JoyceKettererJoyceKetterer Posts: 792
    edited August 2021
    Thanks @John Hudson.  I'm constantly struggling to find ways to articulate this problem.  I've been chewing away at the explanation for about nine years now and you've known me for most of that. 

"IP vs Software" is my latest attempt at framing the same thing.  I arrived at it this year after a conversation with a friend who was shocked that I think broadcast licensing is confusing to customers.  "But these same companies buy broadcast licensing for music" he said.

He was right and so I thought about it and realised that the cognitive dissidence arrises from the fact that fonts are software licensed in a hybrid model with IP licensing.  I think some of this is unavoidable but that to the extent we can choose one model it will be more intuitive to customers. You're definitely right that there's a way this confirmed my priors.  Someone else would have seen that and decided to double down on the IP model (friends of mine have). 

I really do try to be pragmatic, the reason I've been beating the "fonts are software and we need to accept that" drum for so long is that I think as long as we use software to package the typeface into a font we don't have a choice
  • @Ray Larabie To continue your analogy, there’s ample reasons why top fashion brands don’t sell their clothes in malls.
  • Thanks everyone for your revelatory and insightful comments.