Critique needed for sans serif wordmark

Hi,
This is a logo + wordmark I designed for which I need critique. I am fairly new to type design, but have been actively indulging into it. Please give your feedback on this.

Thanks in advance
Looking forward to engaging with this community.t

Comments

• Adam LaddAdam Ladd Posts: 250
    edited July 2020
    What sticks out to me is the seemingly varied widths: the last three letters feel wider than the first two. I'd be inclined to try to narrow the last three a little bit first and see how it feels.

Also, the ending strokes on the E feel a bit too staggered.
  • Looking great! Very minor improvements:
    - Slightly higher curve tension on the /O
    - Slightly smoother transitions (from a curve to straight line) on /B and /D. How to achieve this? I like using this technique, pictured below (taken from a /U). Please bear in mind that my typeface has a higher curve tension than yours, so the exact values may vary. Just experiment and see what looks best :smile:

• Adam Ladd said:
    What sticks out to me is the seemingly varied widths: the last three letters feel wider than the first two. I'd be inclined to try to narrow the last three a little bit first and see how it feels.

I kind of disagree with you, Adam. A narrower /D might look a bit too flimsy, while a narrower /N might look to dark, compared to O and D especially. 
    The staggered look of the ending strokes on /E brings some character to the wordmark, and helps the combination of /E and /O, in my opinion.

Oh, and just another little detail to add: Check the thickness of the middle crossbar on /B: If the thickness is the same as on the other two crossbars, it looks a bit too thick. You might want to thin it out a tiny bit.
    I hear you Philipp. I think I see the B as a little too dark and narrow compared to the O and N (agree about not wanting the D flimsy), so the balance feels a little off to me.