Comments requested: Bulletin Regular

I call this one "Bulletin Regular". It's a sans serif design. Since it's reminiscent of the white-on-black plastic engraved nameplates used on industrial and research apparatus control panels perhaps 70-75 years ago, when The Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists was first published, the name is a nod to that publication and that era. Here also is a PDF proof. Not sure what might be desirable in the way of an image, so I skipped that pending further clarification.

This isn't intended for great amounts of texts. Rather, given its background, I'd say its only real use would be as a display font with some sort of retro / period graphics.

By the way, this is my first time going public with anything of this sort.

Comments

• Chris LozosChris Lozos Posts: 1,458
    edited July 2020
    Stem weights are very uneven for what you say you want.  Look how thin the "I" looks. Curves are not smooth, especially where straight meets curve.  What tries to be geometric appears to not be.  Start with the H and O and make these two work with each other.
    Mesh your knowledge of "Strength of Materials" with what happens when bending iron rods to understand how straights join curves. Bending metal vs stretching rope or constructing with a wet noodle, gives you a range of behavior.
    You might also look up "Leroy Lettering" to find the historical reference for this.

• JDBarryJDBarry Posts: 6
    edited July 2020
    Looks to me like a thorough re-work is in order, including rigorous tangent constructions. If I read you correctly, I need to standardize on stem weights throughout. Not sure what you mean by "start with the H and O and make these two work with each other": pretty vague for a new guy to work with.

By the way, I've seen Leroy lettering in use, albeit ~55 years ago.
    edited July 2020