Liter Grotesque

Anton SkugarovAnton Skugarov Posts: 2
edited March 2020 in Type Design Critiques
Hello everyone 🙌🏻!
My name is Anton Skugarov. I am an interface designer. I decided in my free time from the main work, for self-education, to design a font.
The task for myself was formed as follows — to design a grotesque font for typesetting.
What I did, you can see in the picture and also attach the zip archive(.TTF and PDF).

And in order to move on in the right direction — I am looking for experienced people who can look at my work and give feedback, help with advice.

Thanks!

Comments

• Deactivated UserDeactivated User Posts: 11
    edited March 2020
    Hi Anton!
    I may not have the most experienced perspective here, but just to give my two cents, I think that the left side of the tail of the J feels a bit too high and long to be comfortable. Additionally, the bowls of the 6 and 9 feel a little on the small side.
    Otherwise, I think it looks pretty sweet, and I like the subtle difference in construction between the Latin and Cyrillic K/К!
  • Oh, and just one more thing — most designers would actually classify your design as a "geometric sans-serif" rather than a "grotesque". You can find more information on that here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vox-ATypI_classification#Lineal
  • K PeaseK Pease Posts: 182
    I admire your design of /a, it is practical and distinct.
    I'm not a Cyrillic expert, but might it be better if the verticals of Ш and Щ were evenly spaced?

• Vasil StanevVasil Stanev Posts: 759
    edited March 2020
    For some reason some of the letters in the PDF appear with strange kinks and defects, does someone else have the same problem?

The basic set appears somewhat solid. There are minor issues here and there but you can check them when you compare your font to established ones.