Secuela Variable OFL -feedback-

Hello, I am a self-taught typographic designer, I have been working hard and only for several years, in the design of fonts, until now little by little I have learned from my own mistakes without further help. I would like to receive criticism, suggestions, comments, etc. to help me improve my fonts. Thank you

Secuela is my new Variable Typeface (8 standard weights), Sans serif and condensed (Regular & Italics) with SIL Open Font license, of geometric construction and neo-Gothic style with short descenders and a humanistic finish in the curves to avoid the coldness of purely grotesque typographies, evoking a feeling of warmth and personality , which results in a friendly and very readable typography, is specially drawn for the composition of any text, signage or headlines, both for printing and for screen.

The typography has 704 glyphs (Latin Extended-A) with capital letters in small caps, advanced OpenType functions, several number set, the Bitcoin symbol and a meticulous configuration of metrics and Kerning.

Source files: https://github.com/defharo/secuela-variable

Comments

• Thomas PhinneyThomas Phinney Posts: 2,731
    edited November 2018
    First off, let me say that you have clearly done a massive amount of work and put a ton of time into this. Bravo! It is a fine start. I usually encourage people to get more feedback earlier rather than make a big typeface and seek feedback after, so as to be able to incorporate feedback earlier in the process, and reduce the total amount of work needed.

There are a few... inconsistencies that make the whole less than the sum of the parts.

Just talking about the regular weight and the letters in “Secula” to start....

It seems a bit undecided on whether to make curves a bit squarish, or not. The c is quite squarish (super-elliptical). The e as well. But the S and a show none of that.