Re-outputting/Re-converting font

First off- Hello! I'm new here. Not sure if this is the correct category, but seemed to fit best here. I'm sure the excellent moderators will help out with that.

I am a graphic designer at First Baptist Church of Norfolk. LifeWay, the vendor for our Vacation Bible School curriculum each year, has provided a free font to go along with this years VBS. It's called Game On! and is available for download here: https://vbs.lifeway.com/2018/02/20/exclusive-game-fonts-graphics

The font seems to work fine in all Adobe Creative Suite applications with both Mac & Windows. But on Windows machines, in Microsoft Word & Publisher, the bottoms of all round letters (C, O, Q, etc.) are being sliced off ("flat tires"). This seems to be happening on all our Windows machines, so it's not just isolated to a single computer.

Is there a way to take the data from the existing OTF & re-ouput or re-convert it, so that the characters work correctly across the board? No modifications or changes to the type, just creating a new OTF that works properly.
We don't have any kind of font creation applications here and was just wondering if this was something that was possible.

Thanks in advance for any help. Have a great day!

Jeremy

Comments

• George ThomasGeorge Thomas Posts: 631
    edited April 2018
    Internal data shows Stephanie Salvatore is the Manufacturer of the font, and Clay Cantrell is the Designer. Copyright is owned by Lifeway Christian Resources. Your absolute best (and only legal) choice is to contact one of them, explain the problem, and ask them to fix it.

• Hi Jeremy, this has to do with the vertical metrics in the font. It is fixable, but will require a font editing app (FontLab, Glyphs, etc.) and best practice would be to contact the original designer and ask them to follow Karsten Luecke's excellent guide to font metrics.