Modification Briefs - Best practices

2»

Comments

• @Chris Lozos I'm not familiar with Kunz's book – although many of these terms are overlapping. :)
  • Great photo. :) I am still learning. Shall we get back to modification? 

What's going to happen with missing diacritics on web fonts? We've got a lovely series on Islamic law that chokes up on substitution. I'd hate to see a font's forms defaulted to Georgia on a single character – not because of FOUT, FOIT, FOFT – but because there isn't a compound char for a dotted character. Or equally watch some horrendous kerning from an ArialUnicode combining dot as it fails to anchor itself to the font-in-use.
  • kupferskupfers Posts: 259
    Not the solution to your questions but you can absolutely make a more creative font stack than just Georgia or Arial. Windows as well as other OS come with a variety of typefaces that may fit the typeface in question better (and then stack those). However, in the end not all users will see the same thing.
  • …you can absolutely make a more creative font stack than just Georgia or Arial. Windows as well as other OS come with a variety of typefaces that may fit the typeface in question better (and then stack those).
    This is what we do in print publications. But, some fonts cannot be substituted with even a grimace of adequacy. My concern is not with the solutions for unstyled content, but with the solutions for " fe ̇w chrcte ̇rs in the te ̇xt", nominally diacritics, that are not catered for by the @font-face.
  • Chris LozosChris Lozos Posts: 1,458
    @Florian Hardwig