Lagu Sans

Alessio LaisoAlessio Laiso Posts: 4
edited September 2016 in Type Design Critiques
Hi everyone, this is my first post here. I’m a software designer by trade, and I enjoy drawing letters on the side. I’ve been lurking in this forum for a while, and now the moment to start posting has come for me too.

I’m attaching a pdf showing the sans I’m currently working on: Lagu. This is not my very first work with type, but it’s my first large family starting completely from scratch, so any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

lagu.pdf 330.1K

Comments

• The thin terminals of C/G/S/a/c/f/g/j/s etc. don't seem related to the other thins in the typeface.
    Pay more attention to counter size.
    Get one weight's alphabet working well before further expanding the weights and character set.
  • Consistency is very important with type, for instance your lc /u, where the curve comes in to join the right vertical stem, is smooth and well formed whereas the same is not true of the lc /a and /g. They come in from the left to midpoint then continue on, less curved. It really stands out, to me, although you may intend it to be that way. I didn't look at the PDF, just what you previewed so there likely are others.
  • This typeface reminds me a lot of Cosmos, an '80s typeface from Berthold. Consider taking a look, for tips on how to handle a typeface with a similar design approach, and/or to make sure you're sufficiently differentiating your work.

http://www.myfonts.com/fonts/berthold/cosmos-pro/
  • Hi Alessio, George Thomas pointed out a few things correctly. Take a look at my attached image, before and after, my adjustments to better demonstrate what George is saying. It's critical that the inside counters and curves follow the shape and curves on the outside. If they do not, the eye will pick it up as a bad overall outline. I hope this helps.