Options

multiscript Bodoni - Kasira

Aditya BayuAditya Bayu Posts: 5
edited November 2015 in Type Design Critiques
Hello all, I'm trying to make a bodoni font that includes many codepoints, which includes cyrillic, greek, and balinese. I'm particularly worried on the design of greek/cyrillic because I'm not a native user of them.

This is my first try on bodoni, so any critics or comments are welcomed! (the pdf sample is not kerned btw)

Comments

• Options
    I wasn't aware that Balinese script is so beautiful!

As for your typeface, you will need to work on your curve quality. Do you see how there appear to be abrupt kinks in the outlines where the red angles are, and how the thin stroke marked with interrupted lines fluctuates in stroke width? This sort of thing happens everywhere, as far as I can tell. Before you add more and more features and glyph coverage, make sure the basics are solid.

As for the design:
    • Serifs on thin strokes, such as in /A and /K, are way too timid. /A is lopsided and perhaps a bit too wide?
    • Shoulders in /n, /h, /u etc. and bowl connections in /d, /b etc strike me as inelegant. I would suggest making the cleft between stem and arc deeper, and moving the apex of the arc away from the stem.
    • Top serifs are stylistically inconsistent with bottom serifs (e.g. on /l).
    • Stem weight looks inconsistent between some letters. For instance, the thick strokes in /w look lighter than the stem of /d, /s looks lighter than /t, the diagonal in /K is lighter than the vertical, etc.
    • The /r is too wide and droopy.
    • The foot of /R looks like it's testing the waters with a toe. /J needs a solid footing.
    • The /ß collides with itself.
    • Spacing needs more work. For instance, /g has way too much space to the right. 
    • Greek: The ascenders and descenders are inconsistent. For instance, /delta and /gamma need to fill out the ascender and descender height, respectively.
  • Options