"Ethos" — First try at font making

First of all I would like to say that I'm very happy to have found this forum! I'm a graphic designer and as a big fan of typography I thought it would be nice to try and make a "generic" sans serif roughly based on some sketches that I made just to get some experience dealing with shapes, visual compensations and font making apps. As a total begginer in typography making I would really like to hear your opinions about it! I'm still strugling with the kerning so I would like to ask you guys what techniques or software do you usually use to do it.( the name Ethos is totally random so if you have cool ideas for that I'm all ears )

Comments

• This is very good for a first font. Much better than mine. Now file it away, design five more, and then come back to this and start revising them all.
  • I agree with James. I'd like to see more variety in letter widths, and it definitely needs much more in the way of optical compensation and lightening of joins, but this is an excellent beginning. Well done, and welcome!
  • The Uppercase are narrow/small for the Lowercase.
  • Some small details that are never too early to learn:
    The crossbar on ð is too light. The ring accent on å is too light and too round – you’ll want to make it have roughly the same shape as the /o. Your tilde is very shallow, and the vertical alignment on the diacritics in general is very uneven. The /r feels very much like you cut apart an /n. That’s a good start, but it’s not enough – lower the joint and try to even out the curvature of the arm.
  • attarattar Posts: 209
    edited September 2015