Learning mojo/vanilla

I'm trying to familiarize myself with the mojo/vanilla libraries and I was hoping someone here could give me a better process than picking apart Robofont/Glyph extensions.

I don't want to pollute the forum and I'm fairly new to python and bash, so please forgive my naivety.

So far I'm stuck at extracting/installing the vanilla demos/documentation

# Via bash in terminal on a Mac I enter permissions
sudo -s

# followed by setting the current directory and installing setup file
cd "directory_where_setup_is_based"
python setup.py install
WHICH RETURNS

running install
running bdist_egg
running egg_info
creating UNKNOWN.egg-info
writing UNKNOWN.egg-info/PKG-INFO
writing top-level names to UNKNOWN.egg-info/top_level.txt
writing dependency_links to UNKNOWN.egg-info/dependency_links.txt
writing manifest file 'UNKNOWN.egg-info/SOURCES.txt'
warning: manifest_maker: standard file 'setup.py' not found

reading manifest file 'UNKNOWN.egg-info/SOURCES.txt'
writing manifest file 'UNKNOWN.egg-info/SOURCES.txt'
installing library code to build/bdist.macosx-10.9-intel/egg
running install_lib
warning: install_lib: 'build/lib' does not exist -- no Python modules to install

installing package data to build/bdist.macosx-10.9-intel/egg
running install_data
creating build
creating build/bdist.macosx-10.9-intel
creating build/bdist.macosx-10.9-intel/egg
warning: install_data: setup script did not provide a directory for 'Resources/English.lproj' -- installing right in 'build/bdist.macosx-10.9-intel/egg'

error: can't copy 'Resources/English.lproj': doesn't exist or not a regular file
bash-3.2# 
Is this even the conventional method of learning Vanilla? Any advice would be very helpful.
Tagged:

Comments

• Do you have RoboFont? If you're just getting started with Python it's probably going to be easier to use the scripting interface there—since vanilla, etc. are already installed—rather than installing the package yourself.