Options

On the Origin of (Latin) Type Species

Comments

• Options
    Chris LozosChris Lozos Posts: 1,458
    exactly ;-)
  • Options
    Chris, I speak of classicism as a point of departure, an inherited foundation we need to know, not so much intellectually as under the skin. If you choose to leave it all behind, you need to know what you're leaving. You mention Brahms, Puccini, Stravinsky, Ellington, Muddy Waters, and John Lennon. Brahms, who was largely self-taught, fanatically collected early manuscripts and books of music from the Middle Ages on. He described them to his friend Joseph Joachim, the violinist, as his "university," and found himself so enriched by them that he worked for some years with the musicologist Friedrich Chrysander as co-editor of the complete works of François Couperin (1668-1733), all the while writing his own music. Brahms's library became the cornerstone of the Gessellschaft der Musikfruende library in Vienna. Puccini came from a family that held the position of maestro di cappella in Lucca for over 125 years. His musical education was as classical as one could imagine, similar in many ways to that of J.S. Bach. Stravinsky, who was a student of Rimsky-Korsakov, became more and more involved with old music throughout his life, writing works based on Pergolesi, Gesualdo, and Bach. For thirty-five years, from 1920 to the mid-1950s, his works were largely neoclassical. Duke Ellington and Muddy Waters were hugely influenced by their forebears, in jazz and Delta blues. And did not John Lennon freely acknowledge his debt to Elvis and Chuck Berry? Did the past undermine their splendidly original voices? Fra from it.