What are your methods for designing type?

I'm not sure whether this should be in this forum, or education. Apologies if I'm in the wrong one.

I'm a recent graphic design graduate and I've drawn a few simple geometric display typefaces at University. These were "display", so I had a certain amount of artistic license with legibility.

However, I'm not sure where to begin with drawing a serious (preferably serif) typeface.

Do you draw with pencil first, then scan it in?
If so, do you use any sort of gridded paper?
How long until you take that design and start using Glyphs, FontLab, etc?
Are there any books that have helped you, or others begin designing type?

In the future I plan on taking a course or workshop on the subject, but I can't afford to at the moment.

Comments

• @tmyie, please change your profile to show your real name. This is a "Real Names Only" site. Thanks.
  • Hi Tom. According to your website, you're from London. Dalton Maag just happens to be in the same city, and just happens to offer excellent internships (actually, it's more like a guided learning experience). You can read about some of the previous interns on their blog, and in this article written by me: http://ilovetypography.com/2013/11/01/making-fonts-proza-typeface/ (towards the end).

Also, may I be so bold to suggest my own 'RALP' to help you get started? bureauroffa.com/about-ralp

To answer your question: it depends. Just like every graphic designer has a different approach to his work, so does every typedesigner. Sketching is recommended, though I skipped that step, and I'm not the only one. Scanning is not always necessary, some suggest to try to design on the screen from scratch, with the sketches in mind.

'The Stroke' by Gerrit Noordzij is a very good book for a starting typedesigner, although you shouldn't expect to get all the answers you're looking for. 'Counterpunch' is also interesting, though none of these books are, well, 'necessary'.