Options

DTF Oldstyle

Attached is a PDF proof of an old style typeface I’m working on. This is the light text weight. It’s based on sixteenth century French designs. I’ve given it a large x-height to make it friendly for screens and contemporary editorial design.

Comments

• Options
    The caps are awesome. The lowercase angular letters v and w seem light. The i and j are more stout looking than much of the lowercase. The z maybe a tad wide. Some of this maybe just the hinting that shows in the PDF and since I am not an expert at text faces my critique is not likely as valuable as what others can give here.
  • Options
    I agree that the caps are a strength.
    Top serif of /Z/ seems a bit too small to me.
    To my eye there's something inelegant about the lachrymal terminals in /a/c/r/3/?/
    /i/ definitely looks fat. It feels like the humps of /m/ don't match each other (left one gets thicker faster). /s/ is very nice!
    The proportions of /5/ are too exaggeratedly oldstyle. Lengthen the vertical a bit to keep it from verging on Art Deco. The gaps in /6/ and /9/: I'd either widen them or remove them.
    I recognize some of those pangrams!
  • Options
    On a quick look . . .

a - feels too light

f - top is anemic

r - too narrow
  • Options
    The only other observation I'll comment on is that the l'case "k" could use a slight adjustment on the right side—bring in the top a little and kick out the bottom stroke. Make more visually proportional and pleasing to the eye.

The bottom ball on the l'case "y" appears a bit stiff with the overall design of he font. Kick it out a bit, so that it doesn't look so pinched.

I would remove the sharp angular taper in the top of figure "4". Doesn't compliment the overall design. A horizontal terminal would look better (in my opinion). And finally, the figure "8" appears a little too top heavy and wide. Reduce the width on top and increase the width on the bottom a bit.