Abraham (working title) - work in progress

Jan Willem WennekesJan Willem Wennekes Posts: 148
edited November 2013 in Type Design Critiques
Hello Typedrawers! So this is where you have all been hanging out :) I used to be active on Typophile, then got sidetracked (long story). Around two years ago I started working on 'Abraham', a letterform I have been drawing and using for illustrations and design. My background is graphic design and illustration - see www.zeptonn.nl - I'm still new to type design. I'm also still in the process of learning Fontlab and techniques such as (class) kerning etc, so very much open to suggestions and tips.

This is my second typeface, working title is "Abraham" for now. (My first attempt at creating a typeface is here). The idea is to keep it real big, bold and solid, intended for display purposes. I want to keep the handdrawn feel of course, sort of a loose yet bold style.

I've been drawing these for a while in cards and posters and bookcovers for example. Here are some examples of previous use:

So this is where I started, and below is the glyph set as it is right now. Doubting whether to add lowercase letters - I actually planned on not doing so but I wonder if it would be a good addition or not? I also read that one can use OT features to make it so lowercase letters will be replaced automatically by their uppercase counterparts - in order to save time on kerning etc (not sure how it would work though.)

Thoughts, comments and suggestions most welcome!

Comments

• As I'm new here: am I correct in assuming one can only insert 1 image per post? Here is the rest of the set (still working on it).
  • Decided to give the lowercase characters a try despite my plan to omit them possibly. First test below. They are still wobbly and need work. Any comments?

• Maybe soften the bend of the sides of /v/ and /w/.
  • Hi Jan,