Options

Ergonomics for designers

There are other threads on here (mainly around mouse choice), but wondering how others have setup their workstations and drawing tools for ergonomics and reduction of repetitive strain issues or tension.

I tend to find most effects in my shoulder/neck area and through my arm/hand. I'm trying to adapt to a vertical mouse (Logitech Lift) for a more natural position and less rotation, and helps some, but not as easy to draw with as the standard mouse I've used for years. (Trackball helped a little too for breaks, but not fully, and not ideal drawing.)

I try to pay attention more to my posture, taking breaks, stretching, etc. but am wondering if some changes to my desk and/or chair might also be in play.

What's your experience, solutions, setup?

Comments

• Options
    Nick ShinnNick Shinn Posts: 2,145
    I’ve been using a tablet and stylus for 31 years, which I originally acquired because of the scare over carpal tunnel syndrome back then. I also have an Aeron chair since it was introduced in 1994, and that is as good as new, although a bit dusty in places. And further to James’ comment, yoga.
  • Options
    Thomas PhinneyThomas Phinney Posts: 2,748
    I will also throw in a vote for the Aeron chair. A great piece of kit which transformed the state of my back, for work. Adobe had them at the office, and I bought one for home as well… transformative!

• Options
    I've gotten used to a trackpad and have not had any carpal tunnel-like issues since I switched.
    For sitting I have a Steelcase Leap which I picked because it is a good balance between forcing me to sit in a decent position and being comfortable. My favorite chair was the Humanscale Freedom chair with headrest, that was a nice perk of an old office job. Really I should just stand at my standing desk more.
    Iyengar yoga has done good things for me in terms of neck and lower back pain