Design differences between text font and math font

Hi everyone!

I was asked to add advanced mathematical symbols and size variants to an already existing font. Since I don’t have experience with mathematical typesetting I did some research and noticed that there are differences in the design of typefaces for text and their math companions.

Some differences I noticed are:
  • size and position of basic mathematical symbols like plus, minus etc. (the plus often even goes below the baseline)
  • position (and sometimes even an entirely different design) of delimiters like brackets, braces, parentheses etc.
  • size and position of the summation sign
There are probably more, but these are the ones that I noticed.

Here are some screenshots from the typefaces I studied:

Fira Math and Fira Sans
The math version has slightly larger + and - which are positioned lower. Even the figures themselves are larger (the same as cap-height).The brace seems to be centred to the minus sign.

Libertinus Math and Libertinus
The overall design of +, - and braces are different – much larger and more distinctive.

I understand that the different application of the typeface leads to different design choices. But what specific criteria do I use to determine the size and position of these characters in math fonts? (+, -, √, ∑, etc.)

Also: How do I determine the size increase of the different delimiter variants?

I’d be grateful for your input!

Tagged:

Comments

• John HudsonJohn Hudson Posts: 2,955
    You could also take a look at STIX Two Math (although the most recent work we did on it has not been released yet).

In mathematical typesetting, many things are aligned vertically along the midline of the math operators, as you have observed with the brace delimiters. Math operators in mathematical publishing tend also to be large—those in Fira Math look very small to me; those in Libertinus Math are better.