Options

Matrix quantifying in Fontlab

Hello, I'm new to the fontlab software. For the fresh typeface, I need to quantify the matrix. I'd like to change the line spacing in two consecutive lines of text. I have some doubts. 

1. How do I change the line spacing in Fontlab?
2. What is the Bbox top and Bbox bottom?
3. What is the safe top and safe bottom?
4. What exactly is caret offset?
5. Is it the same for FontLab 7 and 8?

Your advice would be really beneficial to me.

Comments

• Options
    John HudsonJohn Hudson Posts: 2,977
    I recommend posting FL questions to the FontLab Forum (the FL8 forum is the most active, and since FL7 and FL8 are mostly very similar, I would ask in the FL8 forum even if you are using FL7).

1. First see this TypeDrawers thread about vertical metrics (it starts with a discussion of multiscript fonts, but the basic principles about how to determine appropriate vertical metrics are general).

You can control default linespacing using a couple of different vertical metrics models. In FontLab, the Ascender, Descender and Line gap metrics correspond to the OS/2 table ‘Typo’ metrics, and also to the corresponding hhea table metrics, although these should also be set in FontLab’s Other Values font info panel.

2. The Bbox top and Bbox bottom values are informative. If you click the reload button to the right of them, they will display the height and depth of the tallest and deepest glyph outline in your font (the vertical bounding box or ‘Bbox’).

3. When you know the height and depth of the tallest and deepest glyphs, you can then check whether your Safe Top and Safe Bottom values are large enough to encompass the vertical bounding box. ‘Safe’ in this case means that anything within these metrics will not get clipped; any part of a glyph beyond these metrics will get clipped in some situations (mostly on screen, less often in print). The Safe Top and Safe Bottom values correspond to the OS/2 table ‘Win’ metrics.