Returning to Type Design After 20-Year Hiatus

Hello All! I'm a designer hailing from Minneapolis, Minnesota, making a mid-career transition. I escaped my toxic corporate job a couple years ago and am trying some new things. If there's one thing I got out of all the involuntary alone-time the past few years, it's that I want to pursue my one unfulfilled passion from my college days: type design. I've got a few typefaces in the works, both text and display fonts, and have recently had the privilege of receiving some expert guidance through the Type Crit Crew and Alphabettes Mentorship program.

I am also in the very early stages of starting two ventures that intersect with the type design and lettering worlds: psster.com and baldredhead.com. Psster gives me a chance to play around with many different styles of stencil lettering while engaging with important social issues and Bald Redhead Design Supply Co. will eventually sell some of my completed display fonts, in addition to a variety of stock art products.

Comments

• Welcome back Michael! Our first intern  ;)
  • Igor PetrovicIgor Petrovic Posts: 261
    edited February 2023
    I am at the point where I am not sure what position type design will have in my future life, and I have that Blade Runner —"Tears in Rain" monologue sentiment.

I am glad to read about your experience because even if I won't be able to design typefaces it will be temporary until the next opportunity for it opens.

@Nick Shinn I am sure that all that sketches deserve to be seen and turned into typefaces. We should embrace agile versioning much more for type design, starting with
    "v0.1 — uc and lc test word" and then go from there.

We got a conditioned reflex resulting in not even starting digitization, knowing how much time it would take until the finalized typeface, it soaked out much of our excitement and joy.