Transparency, gradients

Hi all,

Newbie here!

I'm designing my first display font and I'm running into a problem. I started designing it on paper, then illustrator. It's when I tried to convert it into a real font that the problem was made clear: I have used a gradient (black, 100% to zero transparency), and font formats do not allow that, it seems. Well, it's possible with color fonts but I want it to be a regular font where the user can pic the color.

So the difficulty now is to convert this gradient into black elements. I have tried various solutions: half tones, triangles, and simply drawing the light reflexions, as the gradient is there to simulate a curved surface. I'm worried the success of this will depend on the size of the font. It makes the font less usable.

Do you have any recommandations on how to deal with that?

Comments

• Ray LarabieRay Larabie Posts: 1,376
    edited January 2023
    It's tricky because the complexity required to get any kind of smooth tone can cause apps to break, and even if you could make it work, you'd still get moiré effects. You can use a coarse halftone pattern effect like this. Film grain→bitmap→autotrace can produce tones with some success, but once you reduce the complexity, the fidelity sucks. I've seen some fonts that use a charcoal paper texture, and it works as a high contrast tone.
    It's 2023, and we still can't have practical transparency in fonts. I'm sure there's a way to do it with color fonts, but then the user can pick the color.
  • In COLRv1 color fonts, you can define shapes with custom colors but also with the current text color. So, you could define a gradient from current color with no transparency to current color with full transparency. The TTX would looks something like this: