No art training; where to start?

Hello. I've been fonting since Y2k was a concern, but there's just a barrier to progress I can't break. The problem is that my background is in literature and linguistics, not art... I just don't see the things the rest of you see. Can somebody point me towards something remedial? I know I'll never be great, but surely adequacy is a realistic goal?

Comments

• Turning towards the roots seems a good idea, I found it proven in many conversations with students. As for type design, that directs to formal writing and (to some extent) inscriptions. The essential thing is to not just look at it but to do it manually yourself. Look at good specimen of hand-written books from the middle ages or the 15th century, get a broad nib pen (e.g a reed pen, you can craft this one yourself!) and start writing. Do it for a little while and see what happens …

• Ray LarabieRay Larabie Posts: 1,376

Instead of applying the elements of typical art education to the problem, consider your adapting your literary/linguistic strengths to the task of creating typefaces. Create difficulties for yourself and try to solve them to develop your design muscles uniquely. For example, take a literary work that you’re very close to and adapt it into a typeface where every concern is solved in a way that relates to an aspect of the story, setting, or character. During this process, learn about the works of artists and designers that relates to the task at hand. Having experience in a field outside type design can be quite valuable because, there’s a danger of arriving at the same conclusion as someone else. If you're okay with that, that's a legitimate strategy too, but it sounds like you want to go beyond that. In other words, instead of looking for a new tool, build with the one you have to develop your own unique abilities.