Critique an amicable glyphic serif face for long-form text.

Hi all!
I'd love some feedback on this typeface I've been tinkering with for the past few months; I think I'm at the point where it seems fairly good to me, but I'm not sure, since I'm still learning and I've been staring at it for a while. Any feedback welcome — please let me know if you can see anything weird that I can't! Spacing & kerning isn't final either. Thanks everyone!

Comments

• Jasper de WaardJasper de Waard Posts: 617
    edited October 2022
    This is quite a difficult genre in my opinion, but I think you did a pretty good job!

1. The proportions are sometimes a little bit off, I think. The e, k, D, G, and K are quite narrow, EFLT are wide, and overall descenders are very low (although that could be conscious choice).

2. The glyphic-ness of some of the glyphs is inconsistent. C is pretty smooth for example, whereas S has those calligraphic cuts.

3. Caps look a bit light, especially in their horizontal strokes.

4. Some specifics. The tail of Q is a bit shy. I would expect a double-story g in this design. The j is (too?) daring. The top of Y is a bit small. The cap Z has very different width from the lowercase z.

5. What about a bold or italics? You will find that they can also help inform decisions in the regular.

Good luck!
  • Cosign on everything Jasper said (except I don't mind the single-story /g). And is there a way to "roughen up" the dots on /i and /j?
  • Nick ShinnNick Shinn Posts: 2,131
    Nicely done!

I would give the “j” a hook at the bottom—this kind of Futura-ish (?) letter is too unorthodox for an otherwise very proper design—at least, from an international perspective.

Also, before you go any further with this weight, I would suggest developing the range, from Thin to Black, and italics. That is, if you intend to make a family.
  • Nice overall!