Figtree - Cyrillic contributions

Hi everyone,

I've contributed some Cyrillic characters to the open source font, Figtree: https://github.com/erikdkennedy/figtree/issues/6#issuecomment-1266948099 - screenshots are available there to view. 

As I'm not a native Cyrillic writer, I would appreciate any feedback that anyone can provide from an expert in the field!

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Michael RafailykMichael Rafailyk Posts: 141
    edited October 2022
    @Drawcard
    Hi, I'm not an expert but a native speaker.
    The lowercase letter ф (efcyr) usually have an ascender and descender. On the sample you provide this letter looks more like Small Caps Ф.
  • + ф
    baseline Дд
  • Pretty good, congrats!

Agree with Michael and Viktor (I guess Victor referred to the fact that the horizontal bar of Д д should go from the baseline upwards, not downwards, seen in black more obviously).

Looking at the thin version, my personal preference would be a bit more pronounced descending parts for Д Ц Щ ц щ (seems like д has it properly sized in the vertical sense; maybe even д can go more downward if there is a space in the descender zone). And seems that descending parts of Д have a nice horizontal shift from the character body before going downwards, while Ц Щ ц щ and probably д need more horizontal move there. The Black version has a different relation of these parts, in general on all these letters in black I would go deeper and maybe a bit more aside before going down. 

The bottoms of these similar descending parts on different letters should be horizontally aligned (if they are part of the same font weight. Different weights might have different alignment I guess)

Maybe the left upper shoulder of the б (lowercase Б) is unusual (too high/tense), but on the other side, I like it because it differs it more from figure 6.

I prefer the curvy arm of Ч ч to go deeper than seen in the light version. It looks good in black.