WarGames—a retro novelty typeface

Hi, I'm new here. I have zero experience with type design, so this is my first attempt. I'm modeling it after certain retro sci-fi LED type novelty typefaces with horizontal stripes, but for my application (I'm designing a GUI for a raspberry pi home automation interface) I wanted a typeface only 5 stripes high, rather than 7 or 12, which seems to be the norm for these kinds of designs, because it will be seen on a small display. It presents an interesting design challenge, because the lower-case letters are only 4 stripes high, which as you can see, made the e especially challenging.

Comments

• Fun!

Yes, the lowercase is a challenge. I suspect maybe the y and g would work better if you raised the intersection point above the baseline, separating the merged bits.
  • TorgoTorgo Posts: 6
    Yeah, that's something I could try. Do you know offhand if there's a way in Glyphs Mini to make alternate character designs without overwriting the original? There were a few letters that I wanted to try different designs for, but hesitated for that reason.
  • Torgo said:
    Yeah, that's something I could try. Do you know offhand if there's a way in Glyphs Mini to make alternate character designs without overwriting the original? There were a few letters that I wanted to try different designs for, but hesitated for that reason.
    Using Mini (which doesn't support layers IIRC), the easiest way might be to Glyph > Duplicate Glyph (Cmd-D) the glyph. From the /e that will give you a new glyph called /e.001 with the same paths and sidebearings etc.
    Then when you're typing strings to look at in an edit tab, you can use Find (Cmd-F) to locate the glyph with the new suffix. 

Torgo said:
    Using Mini (which doesn't support layers IIRC), the easiest way might be to Glyph > Duplicate Glyph (Cmd-D) the glyph. From the /e that will give you a new glyph called /e.001 with the same paths and sidebearings etc.