Futuristic and Contemporary Font Design

Hello everyone, I’m Steve, and from a young age I have been a fan of science fiction, and a lover of cyberpunk style aesthetics, including futuristic typography, logos and the likes.

In recent times I have designed several words and geometric elements in futuristic styles through creative play, all just for fun. Now I’m getting the urge to take it further and possibly create a typeface.

I did complete a course in graphic design a few years ago so have a little knowledge on the fundamentals of design but when it comes to creating fonts, I’m a complete novice! Due to my current beginner status, I’m hoping to gain some advice and direction from anyone here with any knowledge in this particular area of font design.

Admittedly I feel some of my questions may come across as amateur, so please go easy on me! Apologies in advance.

Where to start with this style of font design?

Any course, video, article, foundry recommendations would be appreciated.

Being a Mac user, I have looked into Glyphs App. Thoughts on whether this would be an appropriate application to use to create this style of font?

I’m contemplating enrolling on a typography course but unsure as to whether this would be beneficial to me, as numerous fonts in this style are experimental and sometimes break the boundaries of legibility. Therefore, general font design rules may not still apply.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• John HudsonJohn Hudson Posts: 2,955
    There aren’t really tools that are better or worse for specific styles of typeface, so make your choice based on features, price, and convenience. 
  • Nick ShinnNick Shinn Posts: 2,131
    edited October 2022
    The future of font design is becoming increasingly techy.
    The idea that a typeface can look “futuristic” gives it a decidedly retro appearance, mid-century modern.