font creation framework

Dear TypeDrawers, I am a young graphic designer who has been admiring the beauty of your craft for the last 2 years, now the moment has come when I also want to create font. An opportunity has come my way to create a font for a pc game created by my cousins. I have a general idea and understand the basic issues regarding fonts. I would like to ask you what is your process of creating fonts, how to be efficient and how to avoid beginner mistakes. Also I want to point out that I will use FontLab 8 for this so anything regarding FontLab would be also usefull. Thank you for your answers.

Comments

• You're writing about PC games so I think you're on Windows like me.
    And I use Fontlab 8 after working on Fontographer, Studio 5, Fontlab VI and 7.
    I really think this is a good choice, even if I use Font Creator sometimes, specially as a proofing tool. "Glyphs" is not available on PC.

I just want to say that the FL8 manual will be soon available but you can use FL7 manual as a starting help.

I'm not a professional type designer, more an expert amateur. But I find here on this forum some good advice and some tricks, even if it's "sometimes" a bit garrulous.

For me, beginners' mistakes are:
    - mimicking existing fonts
    - not being creative (a bit the same)
    - neglect readability
    - not starting with good sidebearings definition and kerning too soon
    - not working and revising ALL glyphs a lot of times, specially if you work on your own

And finally, not reading some good books like "Designing Type" by KarenCheng or "Type Tricks" by Sophie Beier.

I wish you success with your game!
  • Most of the good advice one might get is independent of a specific font editor, luckily.

My favorite book right now is this one:
    https://stbridelibrary.bigcartel.com/product/how-to-create-typefaces