Help with getting started - symbol/dingbats/pi and color font, please?

Greetings
I'm a hobbyist font designer, working on a project that may never leave the realm of personal use, but, I'd like to future proof against the possibility that it will eventually end up being distributed (either just the font, or the whole thing). As a result, I'd like to make the font "properly."

The font itself falls into the category of a symbol (or maybe dingbat or even pi) font providing the symbols necessary to chart out knitting patterns. There are a number of existing fonts that already do this, of course, but each one has it's issues (ranging from an extremely restrictive personal use only license that technically prohibits me sending a pdf copy of a document I create using it to a friend and on up to not providing all the necessary glyphs or providing all the glyphs but spread over several different fonts that don't always play nicely together even though they are part of the same "family").

Enough background, on to my questions (and I'm sure I'll have followups):
  1. This needs to be a fixed width and fixed height font, which only works when character width=character height=line height. I've done a lot of reading, but, I'm still confused as to how I would set the metrics to make this work (not counting making sure the line height is properly set in whatever program the font is used in)? To illustrate, example B (image attached below) is a graph paper sketch showing 2 lines of 4 characters each