Options

My book is out!

Hello, TypeDrawers community!

I thought some of you might be interested to know that my book Standby, which I've been working on for eight years, is out today. The book is not about typography — it focuses on a different form of design — but it's relevant to this forum chiefly because, after much negotiation, my publisher permitted me to design and typeset the volume myself. This, of course, is practically unheard of. I worked on the design for over a year, and then set the type in a couple of weeks, with constant correspondence with and input from the publisher.

There is much that I could say about the design, and indeed I've considered writing an article about it at some point, but I won't go into too much detail here.

Sample pages from the book can be seen here, and more information about the book itself is here.

My best to all of you,

Josh

Comments

• Options
    Marc OxborrowMarc Oxborrow Posts: 220
    Congratulations! That's quite the opening chapter, too. Now I'll have to buy the book to find out how the "Cradle Will Rock" situation played out.
  • Options
    Craig EliasonCraig Eliason Posts: 1,398
    Looks great, and hooray for thorough colophons!
    Did you consider alternating book title and chapter title on the "running feet"?
  • Options

Very well done—congratulations! Some remarkable coincidences here: My late friend Mordecai Bauman, the singer closely associated with Marc Blitzstein, and his wife, Irma, were intimately involved with the original production of The Cradle Will Rock. Irma was then Irma Israels, the wife of Carlos Israels, who owned the Mercury Theatre. Tim Robbins based much of his movie on his conversations with them. Mordy and Irma operated a summer arts school for teenagers in Stockbridge, Massachusetts, called Indian Hill, which I attended for four summers. 

I’ll buy the book straight away!