How to set a bit that FL7 won't set for me

This one little thing is holding me back. I upgraded from FL5 to FL7 mostly to be able to tick the "Prefer typo metrics" checkbox, but obviously I can't be waiting for a new version to be released every time I need a another checkbox.
Since I have a font that should belong to a family but differs from Regular in a way other than weight or width, I want to follow the advice of @Jens Kutilek seen here: https://typedrawers.com/discussion/comment/55488/#Comment_55488
Putting aside the question of why Fontlab wouldn't do this automatically when anything is written in the "Other" field of the Name info, how do I do this myself? I seem to have some sort of blind spot for how to access these things that are documented in such detail. I'm not a programmer, at least not since Pascal in high school. Opening the font file raw in Notepad sure doesn't give me a clear view of these tables, so what does?

Comments

• RichardWRichardW Posts: 100
    The program ttx seems pretty powerful and is pretty 'close to the metal'.
  • K PeaseK Pease Posts: 182
    Command-line, huh... well, if I must, I must. This is what I get for writing cartoons about Unix users in my younger days without really knowing what I was talking about. Thanks. If there are easier options, I'd still like to hear them.
  • DTL OTMaster

https://www.fontlab.com/font-utility/dtl-otmaster/

I use it all the time.
    That certainly answers all questions posed. Now to ponder what my perfectionism is worth to me and whether buyers of my display trash willing to buy more than one font in a family will ever add up to that amount.
  • Peter BakerPeter Baker Posts: 178
    edited February 2022
    If you've got the ability to run ttx, then you've also got the ability to run this little Python script (offered under correction):

from fontTools import ttLib
    #This also works with CFF-based fonts
    thisFont = ttLib.TTFont('MyFont.ttf')