Options

What are the differences between WOFF and WOFF2 and any hinting advice

WOFF2 File. Left with autohint and on right with no hint.

WOFF File. Left with autohint and right with no hint.

WOFF2 has some glyphs taller than others, but WOFF does not and all is aligned properly across weights. On the other hand WOFF2 seem to be stronger and more clean in appeal across weights than lighter WOFF.

What should i do to achieve the appeal of WOFF2, but alignment of WOFF. 

Im a total newbie in hinting. I use Fontlab7 and site I used to test web fonts was webfonttest site.

Comments

• Options
    WOFF is only a compression format. The font inside is not changed at all. Somehow you put different font into each container. 
    How did you make them?
  • Options
    WOFF is only a compression format. The font inside is not changed at all. Somehow you put different font into each container. 
    How did you make them?
    I used exporting font as WOFF and WOFF2 in FontLab7 with 2 of exports being customised to not do hinting at all and 2 to do so as it is in default export settings. 
  • Options