Is it legitimate for different font weights to have the same usWeightClass values?

Dear font experts,

I hope it's OK to post this question here. If not, if you are able to suggest a better
alternative it would be great.

It appears that the 'Exo' font from Google fonts has:

Exo-ExtraLight.ttf:    <usWeightClass value="250"/>
Exo-ExtraLightItalic.ttf:    <usWeightClass value="250"/>
Exo-Thin.ttf:    <usWeightClass value="250"/>
Exo-ThinItalic.ttf:    <usWeightClass value="250"/>

So I'm wondering--are duplicate usWeightClass values for different font weights:

* Permitted?
        * Permitted, but non-standard?
        * Permitted, but completely abberant?
        * Permitted, but likely an inadvertency on the part of the font creator?
        * Commonplace?

AFAICS, as someone at least 100 km from being a font expert, I'm guessing the above
usWeightClass scheme is not supported in CSS or by browsers? (This is not actually my
context. It's more to do with the font file selection process for font families and
preferred font families. A miasma.)

Many thanks for any advice or comments.

With appreciation for a great forum,

Rick

Comments

• It will likely cause the styles to sort incorrectly in menus, but the fonts will still be usable. It was likely done inadvertently.
  • K PeaseK Pease Posts: 182
    I recall some advice here not to set numerical weights below 250. I think it's because an operating system clumsily auto-bolds anything designated lighter, with the presumption that anything so light will need more weight to be seen clearly on a screen. This probably informs the Exo example. I don't know why one would not use e.g. "251" for the sake of sorting, but for all I know there's a problem with that too.
  • c.g.c.g. Posts: 53
    I just installed Exo on Windows 10 and all 18 styles are recognised. But it doesn't seem a good idea to me.