Type Drawers foundry directory

Eris AlarEris Alar Posts: 420
Bouncing off this post of mine, I am wondering if an opt-in directory of Type Directors members (and guests) foundries (not personal details). would be of interest to this group? My thinking is a maybe start small, just a google form where members can enter details, then a locked google sheet with the results made public. I am not a web developer, but if anyone is and wanted to help then something more advanced could be made (unless Vanilla already has capability for something like this?). 
Goal: A simple database of foundries represented here including their:
  • website
  • microsites for releases (if relevant)
  • social media handles
  • geographic location
  • places to license their typefaces
Obviously other fields could be added, I guess it depends on what people are wanting to share and find. 
I don't think a listing of individual members would be helpful at this time, but obviously if people wanted it and wanted to be on it then it's possible too. 

Comments

• DrawcardDrawcard Posts: 51
    I'm a web developer, and it sounds like a fun project to be a part of. 

The only consideration is hosting, and management. To reduce the pain of those two things as much as possible, I'd suggest building it with a static website generator like Jekyll, and then rolling it out on Github (where you can deploy it and point a domain name to it): https://docs.github.com/en/pages/setting-up-a-github-pages-site-with-jekyll 

As each foundry applies through a submission form, a new markdown file can be created for them and the site can be regenerated to include their info. Or if they know Git they can submit a pull request to update the site that way too.

No databases to deal with, no CMS to continually update, it's all neat and tidy.

Feel free to drop me a PM if you want to talk about the idea further :)

• Eris AlarEris Alar Posts: 420
    Will do :-)
  • kupferskupfers Posts: 259