Font revival from A to B

Dear typophiles and experts,

I'm a humble amateur who knows next to nothing, but I do love typography like few other things in life. I'm kindly asking for your advice on an unusual question. 

I'm trying to learn how to get from a scan of an old face (say, 1200 dpi) to a FLS file. One I get a .vfb file in place, I'll know what to do. 

My intention is to make a homebrewed revival of a late 19th-century face for my own, purely personal use. I'm not a graphic designer, not a typographer, not a developer of anything. Just a guy who loves books and has to spend a lot of time looking at printed matter. I don't plan to share this font with anyone, let alone sell it. 

With that in mind, I'd like to ask for your opinion on this question: 

Where/How can I learn relatively easily to move from a bmp/png/svg file to a Fontlab-compatible file? 

Strong desiderata:

1.  Shallow learning curve. Regrettably, I have a day job and a family. I'd love to spend a lot of time learning to do this like a pro, but I can't afford that time and effort. 

2.  Intuitive explanations. I've spent the last 20 years wading through rivers of unhelpful, meandering, confusing talk by my peers. One thing I learned is: intuitive, clear explanations are the best. I don't mind being treated like a child. In this particular matter, I'm no better than a child. 

Thank you all for your attention and advice!

Comments

• Well there's FontLab's Scanfont product. And FontSelf. But I haven't used them, and would recommend these basics while working in a conventional font editor:
    — Nail down the vertical guides within the EM before doing any actual work. You may need to add an artificial vertical reference bar alongside the letterform scans so that they import predictably (with no need to fudge the scaling by hand after the fact).
    — Don't auto-trace, trace by hand over the scans.
    — Place points on all extrema, and other points only if the shape truly demands it.