How to be productive drawing type?

Hi, I'm new to type design and I feel the need for a process/plan to be more productive.
I don't make much daily progress as I find myself just keep perfecting small things rather than aiming for the finish line.
Also I'm not sure what's my finish line, goals or milestones.
The part I'm struggled with are punctuation, symbols, accented glyph, and italics.

Here's how I work currently:
  1. Lowercase and uppercase in Regular weight
  2. Spacing and basic kerning with classes for common pairs
  3. Create thin weight master, then interpolate for black master
  4. Punctuation and numbers
  5. Diacritics marks and accented glyph
  6. Italics
  7. More glyphs
What's your process/plan to be productive and get a typeface to finish?
What should be done on daily basis?
The finish might be in steps like version 0.1, 0.2 etc.
I think it's better to release smaller and frequent like those in Future Fonts.

Comments

• Craig EliasonCraig Eliason Posts: 1,397
    One tip I would share is to not spend too much time perfecting any particular glyph. Move on to some other glyph or task. When you come back to it, problems that you couldn't see before will almost magically become visible. This can be true of a typeface as a whole. Setting something aside and coming back to it works really well. If you dwell on something for too long of a stretch, paradoxically it becomes more difficult to see critically.
    Interesting, because I've found myself kicking myself for not being careful enough with a glyph design, moving on too quickly and then realizing I've multiplied the poor decision across glyphs and even masters, and now instead of fixing one glyph I have to fix almost all of them! 

On the other other hand, I find oftentimes it's only through that multiplication that the problem (and if lucky, its solution) becomes apparent.