Setting Sidebearings

2»

Comments

• Thomas PhinneyThomas Phinney Posts: 2,730
    Shifting sidebearings in an asymmetric way would lead to fonts that would not center quite right in centered text, and would not relate as expected to the bounds of their text box. You might think that is fine as long as it is consistent, but people do sometimes mix fonts (e.g. headings, subheadings, body) and having them align differently would be troublesome.

I am also noticing that the only people advocating this are not type designers.
  • John SavardJohn Savard Posts: 1,088
    Indeed, I am not a type designer. And so I overlooked the fact that it would affect how all-capitals text is centered, because it is the bounding box that is used for that purpose.
  • Nonetheless one must offer deep gratitude to outsiders who keep the establishment thinking.
  • Vasil StanevVasil Stanev Posts: 759
    edited March 2021
    I usually work at a 700 pt cap hight, which means my sidebearings for O are about 40 and for the H - 60. The sidebearing for n and o are proportionally as tighter as the lowercase is smaller, which is usually 5/7ths of the uppercase.
    Sidebearing for A I usually make to be 1-5 pt, for the right hand side of K - 2-10, for the same side in L - 20. This varies according to style.
    I use a master InDesign document (with all possible combinations of letters, including Eth, Eszett, ampersand and so on) to check periodacally for inconsistencies. Sometimes I have to go back to fix some design but this happens more and more rarely as I develop further and further as a font designer.
    Also, I print the indd file on an A3 or A2 sheet of paper and look at the design from all 4 sides. Then I print a mirrored version and do the same. 
    Think of it as the martial tournament Chuck Norris went through at one point - with a judge at each corner of the ring.