TrueType hinting in 2020

I would like to ask about the “modern” TrueType hinting workflow.
Over the last few years I have been using ttfautohint --control-file.
However, manual hinting must be introduced to meet the detailed requirements of my customers.

The information I want is the following points
・Tool options
・Handling of TrueType hint when updating fonts. How can I set the TrueType instruction in the previous version of font to the next version of font?

I have no knowledge of Hinting export/import.
Are there any teaching materials to learn about the recent Hintig workflow?
I would be happy if you could give me any information.

Comments

• In Glyphs.app, you hint the multiple master source on postscript outlines. You hint one master and they will be distributed to all (compatible) instances. So your second points is not relevant as you hints are in your master source file: https://glyphsapp.com/tutorials/hinting-manual-truetype-hinting

And if our export as variable font, the hints work there, too.
  • VTT (Visual TrueType) is another professional tool for Hinting. 

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=100438

VTT has a built in Autohinter. Depending on your hinting requirements, this will get you some way. The output from the Autohinter does require touchup, and VTT has quite a steep learning curve. When I worked at MS, I wrote a number of posts on using VTT to hint, unfortunately the blog has not been maintained. This post might be useful. There is also some built in help in VTT that may be useful to you.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/archive/blogs/fontblog/a-graphical-guide-to-vtt-6-10-light-latin-autohinting

if VTT is something you think you might want to use, I may be able to give you some basic pointers and or help on that, although I am not in a position to give any extensive training or technical support. 

• In FontLab 7: