protecting my design while presenting it to a foundry

I am new to this world, designing my first font. I wonder do any of you have experience you can share about the hazards of presenting a new font without it getting stolen? Is there any protection that I should get and use?
Thanks for your consideration.

Comments

• Not really.  :-(

The NDA is a tool of those already in power, not those seeking power... Meaning: somebody seeking favor cannot ask for the other party to take a risk; the risk here being that they might already be working on something similar, and if they agree not to "copy" yours, they get stuck...

Ergo: you have to trust the party you're showing. Also: you have to be honest to yourself concerning the originality of your work; and not be too protectionist if you end up seeing something you feel is too close.

Related: showing your work in public is an interesting double-edged sword. On the one hand the chances of being copied are much higher; on the other hand because you thenhave the first public record of it, it's much easier to lay claim, and less likely a given person will be brazen enough to copy it. Now, if you do show something in public, make sure you don't take too long to release it...
  • John HudsonJohn Hudson Posts: 2,955
    The NDA is a tool of those already in power
    An NDA is a legal agreement between two parties, and can contain any requirements of either party to which both agree, including entirely equivalent responsibilities of mutual confidentiality and agreement not to make use of any information revealed by either party. If you are concerned by the risk that Hrant posits, you can include a requirement to disclose any in-process work that may be deemed similar to what you are disclosing, so there will be no future doubt.

• @John Hudson wrote:
    "you can include a requirement to disclose any in-process work that may be deemed similar to what you are disclosing, so there will be no future doubt."