Humanity sans – An attempt to create a humanist sans serif

Hello, Type Drawers,

I am a graphic designer by profession but I tried my hand at typeface design as part of my MA in Graphic Design 3 years ago at Portsmouth Uni. With the global pandemic happening, I’ve finally found the time to slow down and take another look at my MA project, and it reignited my obsession with type.

The plan was to design a Behance project to display the typeface and tell its story, but I'm now wondering if I should start a new one or keep developing this one and create multiple weights. Heres the Bechance project for anyone that's interested: https://www.behance.net/gallery/98851607/Humanity-sans-typeface-design 

The typeface is called Humanity sans, it was made in an attempt to create a ‘true’ humanist sans serif that worked for continuous reading. Because it was part of my MA it needed a certain level of theoretical grounding. 

Looking at fonts such as Gill sans, that held some humanist forms and quirks but was also very geometric. I wanted to create a humanist sans with minimal geometric construction, that sticks as closely as possible to the humanist serif fonts from the 1400s. (Jenson, Centaur, and Doves were my main reference points). 

In short attempting to answer this question: “How can the humanistic warmth of renaissance type benefit the form of a modern-day sans serif?” 

Bear in mind this was my first type design. I know it's pretty rough around the edges but I’d love some honest and constructive feedback from you avid type designers, so I can keep learning and developing my skills. 

Thank you for taking the time to read my post! 

Comments

• Craig EliasonCraig Eliason Posts: 1,398
    Work on smoothing out the transitions from straight to curved in /B/D/P/R/. 
    Period and comma/quote shapes feel like they're from another font.
    "x-height" of oldstyle figures is too small and/or figure extenders are too long.