Natural Condensed Display

Joseph NavarroJoseph Navarro Posts: 6
edited April 2020 in Type Design Critiques
Hello guys!

I am a brand designer with an incredible admiration for typography so for a project I'm working on right now, for an Interior design studio, I decided to take a stab at my first typeface design. Last few months I've been on a quest to expand my skills and eye for typography from free sources online like this blog, which is by far the best one I've found so far.

The brand I'm working on is named Natural Instinct, so I wanted to make the N, R, A characters have a bit of personality.
When drawing I kept coming back to this N structure with the horizontals that form at top and bottom, from there, I played a bit more with M and W to make them a little wacky and then tried to make everything matched the best I could. The type is meant for posters, ads and special situations so I want it to be a little fun but in just the right amount. Just have this set so far but the idea is to make a full set of characters and glyphs this coming days.

Let me know what you think, any comments, questions or feedback would be greatly appreciated and taken into account.

Comments

• ValKalinicValKalinic Posts: 49
    edited April 2020
    I agree with Christian, /M/ and /W/ are the most distracting. I'd add the /X/ looks a bit anemic - all others are very concrete and stable while it seems distractingly weak. The ampersand might be a tad too elaborate to fit in this no-nonsense yet simple set. Good start overall!
  • Craig EliasonCraig Eliason Posts: 1,397
    Five and two are wide, and horizontals of two five and seven too slight. 
  • I marked up your PDF to give you my thoughts. Some other items that I did not put in the PDF, upon further inspection, are that some characters look a little too wide, specifically the S, X-check after reducing contrast, Y, Z, and 2 — T could be a little wider, too. Hope this helps! Good luck.