How to approach a complete font buyout

Hey, everyone! I have no doubt this has been asked before, but times change and new experiences happen, so I thought I'd ask it (again). I was approached by a company that wants to buy one or more fonts from me as well as any and all rights associated to them. They didn't even suggest a purchase price, but rather told me to make them the offer since they just started their fiscal year and budget requests are an option.

So, I'm pretty new to the idea and I was wondering, for those of you who've been there, done that, if you have any recommendations on how to approach the financial side of this, I'm all ears.

Comments

• JoyceKettererJoyceKetterer Posts: 792
    edited May 2020
    The first question is what you think that font could make over its lifetime if you continued to be able to license it retail?  Then, by how much are your willing to discount that if you got it in one big chuck right now?

But also, if this is a font that already existis in the world, and some people have licenses, I wanna ask the client why they want to own the rights to it?  Can you satify the interlaying impulse they are trying to fulfil with some other licensing scheme?

• AbrahamLeeAbrahamLee Posts: 262
    Thanks, Joyce. Really appreciate your thoughts. I think we're on the same wavelength about approaching the purchase cost. There are users who have purchased licenses directly from me, so I'll be sure to add a clause in the purchase agreement about existing users and that the purchase only affects the usage of the fonts after the purchase date.