How can small designers' fonts ever sell successfully?

Peter_SchoenwaldPeter_Schoenwald Posts: 6
edited April 2020 in Type Business
Hi !

I'm a designer starting out. So let's say I work hard on a font - I nail down the concept and hammer at it for a long time to make it into a worthwhile product both aesthetically and technically. After that, the time comes to release the font, and it becomes available on MyFonts.

How will anyone ever find it and buy it? I myself am an unknown designer/foundry, with no real channels of marketing my design. MyFonts wouldn't put it on the front page as I'm unknown. And people wouldn't search for the font by name (which is meaningless in itself) if they don't know it exists.

What am I missing here, how can small guys avoid their work sinking in the infinite sea of fonts either new or established?
For example, could a new type designer ever realistically get on something like MyFonts' "Hot New Fonts"?

Thank you all
Tagged:

Comments

• K PeaseK Pease Posts: 182
    This is one of the few things MyFonts is actually good at. You make sure to tag it with every applicable description, and people searching for something specific to meet their needs will find it in their search results. This is of course a "long tail". If you want a hot start, it's all about the deep introductory discounts they recommend so fervently. There are strong arguments for and against it, which you'll have to weigh and decide what you're willing to do.
  • Alex VisiAlex Visi Posts: 185
    That’s the only thing that can possibly happen with this strategy — an unknown designer gives 50% to myfonts just to bury their font deep in the search to never be found by anyone.

A better option would be to contact some foundries or start your own and put some time and money into promotion.
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.