(attempt at) a true reverse contrast Roman

Hello everyone,

Since this is my first time posting here, I'll start with a quick introduction. I've been into lettering and calligraphy for a couple of years, teaching myself this noble craft best I can. In august I purchased FontLab, and since then I've been moving up to type design. I've made a few typefaces so far, some esoteric, others more 'normal'. None of them are prize-winners, but I'd like to think I did a decent enough job for a beginner.

I've been working on what I'd like to call a 'true' reverse contrast typeface. The model is based on a foundational hand written with the nib angle at 135°. Of course, some adjustments had to be made to letterforms in order to retain legibility and avoid issues. I am trying to retain a slightly calligraphic look, combining it with angular forms. I find it tricky to describe, but take a look for yourself. In line with the rules of this board, see a low-res image of it below. A PDF is also attached.

Primary purpose would be display, but I am interested to see how it works in longer texts. Certainly, I wouldn't expect anybody to set more than a few sentences in it, but I do wish for everything to be relatively legible.

As of now, I've spent a long time staring at these letters and can't tell anymore which aspects look off because of poor design, and which look off because of breaking 2000-year old tradition.
I humbly ask you all for your expertise: any and all feedback/critique is welcome.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Ray LarabieRay Larabie Posts: 1,376
    I like it, especially your solution for the a. The only thing that my eye won't let go of is the w. I wonder if it might be better to go with a pointy middle. I can see that it follows the logic of the v & y and reversing the middle serif probably would make it worse.
  • Nick ShinnNick Shinn Posts: 2,131