Back to typography but... Software?

Hey. I haven't designed type for around 10 years. At that time I was working with Fontlab 5 and it seemed enough for me with some caveats (interpolation, auto hinting.. and so on). Coming back to the design I've found myself against a wall. Tried the Fontlab 7 but all seems so complex, so hard to get into. After re-designing my type logo there, it seemed like it took me longer than expected but at the same time I've used new features. There isn't much tutorials regarding Fontlab 7 which makes it even harder to take on.

Anyway, the main thing that pushes me towards Fontlab 7 is the ability to run on something besides Mac Os. When I tried Glyphs some time ago it did seem to have some major features and simple enough to use but only Mac Os. So... What is the consensus nowadays on the community regarding font design software? Is even there a third alternative? Not talking about fontforge which is buggy, a "real" one.

I'm a developer by the way but I don't see where that could help me out on font design.

Comments

• One other advantage on FontLab 7 is that it runs on Wine so I could even use it on Linux (I'm always interchanging OS).
  • edited January 2020
    I am also a developer mainly for Linux but I changed to Mac as desktop 6 years ago. Mac is not perfect for development, but with homebrew and other environments like perlbrew and rakudobrew it's convenient. On developer conferences I see 50% using Mac, 40% Linux and 10% Win. Windows is boring if you want to use open source. Mac can break third party software or drivers at updates. That's why I hesitate at the moment to upgrade to Catalina. 

For type drawing software I'm not the right guy to give advice. I use FontForge (crashes often) for small tasks. FF is a big heap of bugs, as fontutils is. I prefer Font::TTF written in Perl by SIL, but restricted to TTF file format. It fits very well in my toolchain written in Perl and C.