Modern Slab Serif Font

Hi Everyone.

I'm a freelance graphic designer that mostly specializes in logo designs. and during late 2018 I discovered my burning love for type and lettering. I'm doing self-study through youtube videos, asking for a solid critique of people that are well educated with type.

I'm doing lettering for only a year or so now. At the end of 2019, I decided to venture on font making since some people encourage me to build my own fonts when they see my lettering.

Heres my very first font. a modern looking slab serif. I mostly envision this font to be used in college or school shirt designs. Maybe it could also be used in some tech-related industries.

Heres my self-analysis on this font.
  • I'm still not satisfied with how the cuts are placed, do you think you could suggest on how I can properly place the cuts? Especially on the W, M, N, Y, and X.
  • Some characters look a bit heavier especially "0(zero)" where in fact, I have modeled all the letters with the same weight.

Im really looking for a detailed or in-depth critique to further improve this font.  Hope you guys could help me :)

Thank you!

Comments

• Hi man :)
    It's a very solid stab at a first font, it definitely has potential. The wedges that you've put through all the letters work fine with some and not so good with others. Do not fear rotating and modifying them.

Some letters look heavier because you used the same stem width, while in actuality you should play with it to make them appear equally heavy. E.g., the left arm of the U appears lighter because you put a wedge in it. The other arm should compensate. Some of the letters, notably the A, V, W, X, Y have wedges that are either too small or break the overall dynamic of the letter. For example, nowhere on the X do you have an element that suggests the wedge should go where it does. Conversely, the bottom of the W is flat, so the wedge sits somewhat better there. P needs a right leg. And so on.