Looking for guidance on publishing my first font.

Thomas WeakleyThomas Weakley Posts: 59
edited January 2020 in Type Business
I anticipate publishing a display typeface in the next few months. I'd like to offer an all-around commercial license at an affordable price but I'm open to other suggestions. At the end of the day I want to do what is best for the design community as a whole. 

If I sell it should I release a trial version? 
This seems very messy. I've seen it mitigated a number of ways. Some designers offer a trial version that is missing characters. If the typeface is part of a family I have seen only one weight released as a demo. As a designer I understand that it's difficult to know if a typeface will work for a project without trying it first. However I don't imagine I'll have time or resources to take action against people misusing a trial version. I suppose it will just be an honor system of sorts. It seems as if releasing a demo on one site means 10–15 other sites will procure it and release it without your consent.

What service should I use to publish the font? 
I've been leaning toward Fontspring. What does the process for releasing through Fontspring look like? Creative Market also looks good but I'd need to go through the application process first. What are the implications of offering it totally free — maybe as a Google font? How do free font services affect the type design community? 

What is best practice for licensing?
I don't know where to start here. Are there any resources I could tap for this? Any boiler-plate licenses that I could acquire?

Should I push myself to add Latin accents?
I've considered increasing the usability by adding latin accents. This is a daunting task for someone who is not multilingual but I'd imagine publishing a font without Latin accents is frowned upon and cheapens the typeface. 

I understand this is a lot of questions. Any info helps. Thank you!

Tagged:

Comments